Home > Video Games (Main) > I Love Video Games, But I’m Not Very Good At Them……..

I Love Video Games, But I’m Not Very Good At Them……..

At first there doesn’t seem like there’s too much to this entry.  The title is a statement.  No real need to elaborate right?  Well, I figured I’d expand on this a little because playing a lot of video games and not being God’s gift to Zelda is something gamers are strangely hesitant to admit to.  If anything it’s the opposite.  You’ve got the typical derogatory comments towards other gamers like “Noob!” and anything in reference to getting one’s ass kicked, and they all imply that I’m great and you suck.  There is no middle ground.

Now I realize that some of this can be attributed to the fact that although video games are not for pre-teens only anymore, they still occupy a good chunk of the gaming population and online matches are no exception.  Even though those of us who started gaming in the ’80s have carried the torch proudly, younger generations are just as curious and adaptable to new technology as we were back when Thundercats pajamas were the shit.  In other words, it’s not surprising kids are taking their gaming experiences online along with us old-schoolers.

Now I just noticed I used the term “old-schoolers” in reference to myself and those my age that grew up playing console games.  See, I just don’t see myself that way when I really think about it.  Unlike almost every other kid in America I grew up with Sega not Nintendo.  I owned the 8-Bit Master System, the Sega Genesis of course, and basically every peripheral/money grab that the company ever released such as 32X and Sega CD.  I’ll summarize my Sega love by posing a question:  Try to name me one other person you know that owned the adapter that let you play Master System games on the Genesis.  I’ll grab a Hot Pocket and come back. 

The point is by calling myself an “old school” gamer or, heaven forbid, a “hardcore” gamer I worry that it gives the wrong impression.  The first thing that comes to your mind is someone that tore through games like the Legend of Zelda, Castlevania, Ninja Gaiden, Contra, Pac-Man and Donkey Kong with reckless abandon, beat them all, ripped out their pixellated throats and howled at the moon.  But that’s just not me.

I’ve probably had almost as many memorable gaming experiences as the kind of person described above but I’ve also failed to complete more games than I’ve finished, probably at about a 10/1 ratio.  I played Halo 2 online incessantly and won about the same number of games I lost.  I was literally AFRAID to play gamers whose player rankings were decidedly above me.  I’ve burnt myself out on wonderful, immersive games like Fallout 3 because honestly I just got tired of them.  For those of you that played and enjoyed Fallout 3:  PLEASE COME BACK!  I DIDN’T MEAN IT!

What’s odd about the whole thing is that there isn’t anything much more exciting to me than a game that gets its hooks in me and makes me want to play it in 4-8 hour sessions.  Given that information you’d think by now I’d be bound and determined to slay the hell out of any game I thought was worth my $60 but that’s just not the case.  Even with Virtua Fighter 5, the latest incarnation of my favorite series in all of video games that lets you go from town to down attempting to beat every AI arcade dweller in Japan, I simply lost interest.  I won’t even get into games that I quit on because I simply wasn’t good enough (not to mention I play everything on the normal difficulty setting to boot).

I guess if you do anything in repetition you get sick of it.  Some things just take longer than others.  Maybe I can’t justify that though.  Look at how many people play World of Warcraft and Everquest before it.  There are people out there that still play games like StarCraft and Command & Conquer regularly, years and years after their initial release.  Then again those examples are all PC games.  Collecting console games has become a nice fad in the past 10 years or so but the actual playing of the games?  Not so much.  I’m not sure why there’s a difference between console games and PC games in that regard.  Some genres such as real-time strategy do lend themselves much more to a PC rig so that could possibly be the reason.  Maybe it can be summed up in this equation:

INCREDIBLY IMMERSIVE GAME = LOTS OF MENUS = NOT POSSIBLE ON A CONSOLE

Actually I’d say that’s a pretty accurate and concise way to summarize the whole phenomenon.  I played my share of PC games until the computers themselves demanded constant upkeep if a layperson such as myself wanted to play the latest games, but maybe I should have played them more.  Perhaps more experience with them would’ve lent itself to me being more dedicated to each gaming experience and would result in me completing more games…………………………..

Eh fuck it, who am I kidding I suck ass at games and if you tell anyone I’ll kill myself………….(sob)

Categories: Video Games (Main)
  1. July 25, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    LOL, Thundercat PJ’s… Hey at least I can relate to the age arena of where you are playing from. As far as a gamer, can’t say as I am or ever was really, although I did make a few years sitting in a local bar in front of the “Gallaga” Machine every wed. and friday night. It was like a religion to me at the time, even though, and here’s where we also share a little in common: I sucked!!! Enough so ..that , apparently, I still can’t spell Gallega. But, anyway, one thing you don’t suck at , is writing. Keep up the good work. God Bless

    • July 26, 2009 at 11:35 pm

      Thanks man I appreciate it, very much in fact. It’s a real pain getting something like this off the ground and it’s good to know someone somewhere has found it and liked it. Sonsothunder…..is that an Airheads reference? Very funny movie.

  2. July 29, 2009 at 12:17 am

    LOL, No, sonsothunder is not an airheads reference, although, in my case , you may want to make an exception. Actually Sons of Thunder is a reference from the Bible: Mark 3:17
    And James the son of Zebedee, and John the brother of James; and he surnamed them Boanerges, which is, The sons of thunder: I would never try and force any sort of religion on you, but i would appreciate if you would also drop in @ my site and read at least one post, and leave an honest comment. Whatever is on your mind will be fine. I only started with WordPress about a week ago, and could really use a “Comment” LOL..Just to see what one looks like to be honest..LOL
    God Bless you.

    http://sonsothunder.wordpress.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

