Home > Video Games (Main) > Bionic Commando: Rearmed and the Diamond in the Rough That is Xbox Live Arcade

Bionic Commando: Rearmed and the Diamond in the Rough That is Xbox Live Arcade

I have to be honest: for as much as I love console video games I have a lot of reservations about where they’re headed.  On one hand you have a lot of nice innovations like the Nintendo Wii and also the simple fact that games can be bigger and more in-depth.  The only problems are that sometimes the former is too simple and the latter too complicated.  Maybe it’s because I’m past the age where video games were my go to activity, but lately I’ve craved an experience that keeps me interested without requiring a commitment of 30-40 in-game hours to get the most out of the product.

Enter Xbox Live Arcade.  I was aware of a remake of the classic Nintendo game Bionic Commando which was available for download through the Xbox’s online service.  Familiarity with the title itself was the only connection I had with the game.  Recently it became available for $5 so I decided to download it given the good things I’d heard about it.  All I can say is wow.  They’ve updated the graphics as much as can be expected, and the game still maintains it’s side-scrolling charm at the same time.  Long story short, it embodies the simple yet subtly brilliant level-design of the ’80s and early ’90s with enough of a facelift to not focus on what would’ve been outdated graphics.  It came at a great time too because I’ve also recently been sinking my teeth into the Ultimate Genesis Collection, which contains almost every one of the Sega Genesis’ big guns from its heyday (All the Sonics, Golden Axe, etc.).  Anyways the timing was right for me with Bionic Commando:  Rearmed, but it’s still very much worth a purchase at the usual price of $10.

Xbox Live Arcade has a ton of solid original and nostalgic games for you to peruse through.  It’s a godsend during a span where you don’t really have any upcoming games on your radar but need something to keep you playing until the next big thing.  The best part?  Most games are either $5 or $10.  When you find something you’re interested in I have to admit it becomes a weighing of pros and cons if it’s in the $10 category, but if you’ve gotten this far and the cost is only $5 (4oo points) then you shouldn’t hesitate.  Every once in awhile you’ll see something for $15 such as Portal which contains 14 additional levels, which is a bit pricey if you’re like me and have beaten the original but even still it was tempting.  So check out what they have to offer and I’m sure you’ll find something that takes you back to simpler times (Smash TV) or something entirely brand new that’s an incredible value (Braid).  Here is a short list of games that I know either will tempt a purchase from you for the memories or that you should certainly look into for their original experiences:

$5 Bargains

Smash TV, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles:  The Arcade Game, Worms, Contra

$10

Duke Nukem 3D, Ikaruga, Castle Crashers, Bionic Commando:  Rearmed, Braid

$15 But Well Worth It

Castlevania:  Symphony of the Night, Portal 2

Categories: Video Games (Main)
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

