Home > 1 > What’s Coming This Month on Xbox Live

What’s Coming This Month on Xbox Live

Here’s a look at what’s new and what’s on sale on Xbox Live this month:

DEALS OF THE WEEK

Mass Effect expansions (Bring Down the Sky and Pinnacle Station)  Sadly I’ve never played Mass Effect and at one time I announced it online.  I was met with a barrage of gamers suggesting I play it and shockingly, all of them were respectful in their comments.  At any rate it’s one of those games that got away and I’m not sure I’ll have the time to invest in it unfortunately.  For those that have played it these expansions are only 240 MS points on the eve of the sequel being released.

Hasbro Family Game Night:  Battleship (400 MS points)  Thanks but I don’t think I have to pay someone $5 to play a simple board game from my childhood.  Oh well, at least it’s there for gamers who are also parents.

Following week:  Portal:  Still Alive (800 Points)

GAMES ON DEMAND

Ghost Recon 2:  Advanced Warfighter  I love Rainbow Six so it’s strange that this series isn’t my cup of tea.  Still, it’s probably a nice budget choice for most people’s tastes.  It was the first game I purchased with my Xbox 360 and while it wasn’t my thing it was certainly impressive.

Dead Rising  This doesn’t release until January 26th, but do yourself a favor and pick it up at GameStop.  Even if it’s only $20 on Xbox Live you’re guaranteed to get it cheaper in the store.  It’s a really fun game if you can look past some strange development decisions (bad save system, etc.).

XBOX LIVE

Serious Sam:  The First Encounter  For some strange reason people are buzzing about this coming to Xbox Live.  I respect their opinions but it was thrashed by just about everyone when it was first released so for 1200 MS points, I’ll pass.

Vandal Hearts:  Flames of Judgment  This is a strategy RPG and the sequel to the PS1 original.  It’s 1200 MS points yet again but I’m always a little interested when something from Sony comes over simply because it doesn’t happen that often.  Plus I need some RPG action to hold me over before FFXIII.

Death by Cube  I have no idea how to describe what I’ve read about this game so I’ll let Kotaku do the work for me.  It looks simplistic yet bizarre.  It’s not a terrible buy at 800 MS points, so I’ll be keeping an eye out for what people are saying about it after the January 20th release.  Could be a dark horse purchase.

AVATAR MARKETPLACE

Burton apparel  Snowboard shizz.

Darksiders apparel  For fans of the recently released game.

MX vs. ATV apparel  See above.

International attire  I’m guessing overpriced hats and shirts with flags on them.

University style outfits  I need a change from my Penn State t-shirt.  Maybe I’ll find something here.

There’s also some discounts on certain games within Games on Demand including BioShock, Saints Row, and Civilization Revolution.

  1. modena135
    January 16, 2010 at 7:58 am

    I for one will be playing Mass Effect 2 on January 26.

    Also, don’t be so quick to jump on the bandwagon for Serious Sam. I will find you a ton of people that hate any good game. I am too tired to search the interwebs, but I can say with certainty that this is actually the HD version and the thrashing you speak of was about the first port they ever did to PC — it was very buggy. This game, the original, got game of the year all over the internet at places like IGN and Gamespot back in like 2000 or 2001.

    Croteam or whatever they are called, has blundered in the past. I can not remember anything specifically besides that first PC port, but I kinda remember like a Game Boy or something along those lines had a version of Serious Sam and it was not that good.

    At $15, I will not be buying it either, but not due to this thrashing you speak of. It is worth checking out though and if there is a trial, I would recommend trying it. Basically it is an old school shooter, like Doom, except there are more enemies and more wide open spaces. There is a decent amount of humor and a good portion of it is kinda explicit. Honestly, I do not even like the game that much, but if it were like $2-3 I would get it. I just don’t think you should completely pass on it since I know you liked Duke Nukem so much and there are a ton of similarities in this game.

    I can almost guarantee that this game has received at least a rating of 7 at most game review sites. And I am curious to know where all these places are that you saw negative posts and stories on the game (unless you saw stuff about their first PC port which was kinda a dud).

    • January 16, 2010 at 5:57 pm

      Good info! I know my comments stemmed from whatever I read when the game first released, so it’s possible it was the PC port. I’ll have to do some soul searching and see if I’m wrong though and change some stuff above.

  2. modena135
    January 17, 2010 at 4:28 am

    Not that I am a journalist or anything, but if you removed from your main post what you said originally, that is totally unethical. Maybe a simple strike-through of what you originally posted with a follow-up paragraph of what you thought now — that would be the best method.

    • January 17, 2010 at 7:52 pm

      Ha true. Maybe I can do what most journalists do and write a correction like a week later!

  3. January 18, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    I kind of just meant it in a way to keep out site honest. Either the strike through method or writing a follow up is fine with me. I just hate when sites publish something and then they delete it at some later point because it was wrong or they did not like something about the original post. Unethical if you ask me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

