Home > Video Games (Main) > Daily Gaming Experience 05/05

Daily Gaming Experience 05/05

One game of Catan, one loss.  Played Modern Warfare 2 and had varying success.  And I’ve come to accept the fact that I probably won’t get to play the Halo: Reach demo.  Oh well.  In 12 days when the beta has closed I probably won’t be able to care less.  Sure it would be nice to get an early taste of the gameplay, but we’re 4-5 months away from release so no reason to get all excited until then. Let’s talk about some of the games coming up this month, because as I mentioned earlier it’s a surprisingly good month.

As mentioned yesterday Alan Wake is on its way May 18th.  Judging by my last entry it’s probably assumed I have unwarranted bias against this game.  Not true.  My best guess is that the game isn’t anything special, but I would wager that it’s probably solid.  The thing is I haven’t seen anything special from the gameplay I’ve watched.  Anyways I would run out and grab the game if I had nothing else to play and/or if there was nothing else on the horizon.  I’ll pass though unless a few friends give take the plunge and give rave reviews.

I see Alpha Protocol isn’t coming out until June 1st, but that’s close enough.  I’m cautiously optimistic about this one.  The impression I get is it’s a 3rd person spy/action game with RPG elements heavily influencing gameplay.  If it’s pulled off nicely it’ll be a great blend of different genres.  I admit I’m automatically interested in anything with an RPG aspect.  I’ve read that the AI wasn’t very good in the early builds, but we’ll see.  The graphics didn’t really impress me in the commercial I saw a couple of times either, but if there’s a decent story to tie all these elements in I think it’ll be fun.  The RPG elements seem prominent enough that if a few other boxes get checked off on my personal list I’ll be purchasing this game.

Prince of Persia:  The Forgotten Sands comes out May 18th as well.  All I know is they’re getting back to the formula that made The Sands of Time so awesome, and that’s good enough for me.  I’ve heard the time-bending elements have been spun a different way this time around but that’s okay.  I’m very optimistic and pretty sure this is going to be a hit.  That’s just my feeling.  Unless I see something surprisingly lacking in the reviews, I’ll be trading in my dust-covered Splinter Cell: Conviction disc in for this.  Hey like I said I liked that game but I simply don’t have the urge to play it enough.

Sniper: Ghost Warrior is my pick for sleeper hit in May.  It releases on the 25th and I don’t really have any specific reasons why I think it will be good, I’m just HOPING it is.  Sniping is cool.  We all love it.  The environments seem to be sprawling sniper havens so it could be a lot of fun.  I did just read that half the missions are from a normal soldier’s point of view, which is disappointing BUT:  The game has 16 missions adding up to about 8-10 hours of gameplay and it’s only $39.99.  That’s not a terribly large experience but the fact that it only costs 2/3 of what a new title normally costs is worth mentioning.  FYI this game has nothing to do with Call of Duty or any king of Tom Clancy game.  It’s developed by City Interactive and no, I have no idea who the hell that is.

Of course there are other games I’ll be keeping an eye on that don’t release until later on like Dead Rising 2, Call of Duty: Black Ops, Halo: Reach, and Marvel vs. Capcom 3 but like I said, no need to get excited right now.  Seem like there’s plenty of good stuff on the way very soon.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

